Wednesday, July 17, 2024

Blanca Velasquez wins the 2014 Optimist National Championship Regatta


On the weekend of November 8th and 9th, the Belize Sailing Association and Tipsy Tuna Bar and Grill hosted the combined Optimist National Championship Regatta (BIZ14) and the Tipsy Tuna Sailing Regatta. The regatta was held in Placencia and saw the advanced sailors competing in the BIZ14, while novice sailors participated in the Tipsy Tuna Regatta. At the end of the regatta, top prizes went to members of the San Pedro Junior Sailing Club (SPJSC), with Blanca Velasquez taking first place in BIZ14, Jerdon Anderson taking the sailor of the year award and Faith Noel taking the female sailor of the year award.44 National Sailing Regatta-3
The regatta saw the participation of SPJSC, Sea Scouts, Belize City Sailing Club (BCSC), Corozal Bay Sailing Club (CBSC), and Placencia Sailing Club (PSC). Each participant sailed in six races, each of which were scored by the judges. The five lowest score races were taken into consideration to determine the winner, with the sailor scoring the least points taking the top ranking.

Photo by:
Photo by:

Only sailors who had ranked on top in at least five out of the seven prior regattas in the sailing season qualified for the BIZ14. At the end of the competition, four out five sailors in the top five were from SPJSC. Blanca Velasquez of SPJSC took first place with eight points. Christian Trejo of SPJC came in second place with 18 points, while Trent Hardwick of Sea Scouts came in third place with twenty points. SPJSC’s Faith Noel took fourth place and Jerdon Anderson took fifth. Other finishers are as follows: Antonio Ricardez of BCSC in 6th, Nashira Ricardez of BCSC in 7th, Christopher Young of CBSC in 8th, Tyler Garbutt of PSC in 9th, Patrick Rhamdas of PSC in 10th, Jazmin Campos of CBSC in 11th, Trent Humes of BCSC in 12th, Kathryn Salinas SPJSC in 13th, Wilson Rivera of PSC in 14th and Jaden Lauriano of BCSC in 15th.44 National Sailing Regatta-2
In the novice category, or green fleet, first place went to Conner Rhamdas from PSC with 11 points. Christian Ferrel of PSC took second place with 13 points. Third place went to Peter Joo with 15 points also from PSC. SPJSC’s Rashawn Gonzalez came in fourth place with 15 points, while PSC’s Waylon Scott took fifth place with 20 points. Other top finishers included Cianna Garbutt of PSC in 6th, Abner Lopez of PSC in 7th, Nigel Rosado of CBSC in 8th, Adyaneiri Teck of CBSC in 9th, Tae Medina Neal of Sea Scouts in 10th, Joaquin Alcoser of CBSC in 11th, and Javian Young of BCSC in 12th.44 National Sailing Regatta-1
Individual awards were also issued, and SPJSC’s Jerdon Anderson took first place trophy for the sailor of the year award. The second place trophy for the sailor of the year award went to Antonio Ricardez of BCSC, while SPJSC’s Blanca Velasquez took the third place trophy. Faith Noel of SPJSC received the female sailor of the year award.44 National Sailing Regatta
Event organizers would like to thank all sailing clubs and sponsors that made this sailing season a huge success. Congratulations to all sailors on an excellent job!

Read more


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Local News